No.1 Ent. And Gist Portal

France coach, Deschamps unveils 23-man squad for Euro 2016


football-bleus-liste-23-euro-deschamps_0 France coach, Deschamps unveils 23-man squad for Euro 2016

Coach Didier Deschamps on Thursday presented the list of 23 football pros who will represent France at the upcoming Euro 2016 tournament. Strikers Olivier Giroud and Anthony Martial are among 10 Premier League players who made the cut.

The list unveiled in Paris was devoid of any real surprises, with Deschamps confirming that Real Madrid striker Karim Benzema will sit out the competition between June 10 and July 10 after a ban over his involvement in an alleged blackmail scandal.

Lyon Midfielder Mathieu Valbuena, the target of the S*kx tape blackmail scandal, and who has struggled with injuries this season, will also miss the Euro 2016 that is being held in France.

Laurent Koscielny and Oliver Giroud have both been included in Didier Deschamps France squad for the Euros. #afc
— Arsenal TSN (@ArsenalTSN) May 12, 2016

Striker Hatem Ben Arfa had been hopeful of making the squad after relaunching his career at Nice, but instead has to settle for a place on the standby list of eight.

The entire list presented by Deschamps on Thursday follows below.

Goalkeepers: Hugo Lloris (Tottenham, Angleterre), Steve Mandanda (Olympique de Marseille, France), Benoît Costil (Stade Rennais, France).

Defenders: Patrice Evra (Juventus Turin, Italy), Laurent Koscielny (Arsenal, England), Raphaël Varane (Real Madrid, Spain), Bacary Sagna (Manchester City, England), Eliaquim Mangala (Manchester City, England), Lucas Digne (AS Roma, Italy), Christophe Jallet (Olympique Lyonnais, France), Jérémy Mathieu (Barcelone, Spain).

Midfielders: Paul Pogba (Juventus Turin, Italy), Blaise Matuidi (Paris SG, France), Lassana Diarra (Olympique de Marseille, France), Ngolo Kanté (Leicester, England), Moussa Sissoko (Newcastle, England), Yohan Cabaye (Crystal Palace, England).

Strikers: Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Anthony Martial (Manchester United, England), Dimitri Payet (West Ham, England), Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich, Germany), Olivier Giroud (Arsenal, England), André-Pierre Gignac (Tigres de Monterrey, Mexico).

Standby list: Alphonse Areola (Villareal, Spain), Hatem Ben Arfa (OGC Nice, France), Kévin Gameiro (FC Sevilla, Spain), Alexandre Lacazette, (Olympique Lyonnais, France), Morgan Schneiderlin (Manchester United, England), Samuel Umtiti (Olympique Lyonnais, France), Djibril Sidibé (Lille OSC, France), Adrien Rabiot (Paris SG, France).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.